top of page
Search

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

It took me two attempts to read Rebecca. The first time I picked up the book I had too much going on around me and I just couldn't focus. So I decided to put it down and I'll get to it at some point. A few weeks later everything had calmed down so I managed to get myself comfortable and just read as much as I could the first night.


I really enjoyed reading Rebecca. It is the only book of Daphne du Maurier's that I've read which will hopefully change really soon. I don't really know what parts of the book I loved because it was just a great read. I loved the descriptions of Monte Carlo and Manderley. I've never been to Monte Carlo and I know Manderley doesn't exist but I felt like I had been there once I'd finished reading. I loved the cold housekeeper Mrs Danvers however it's blatantly obvious how much she still loves Rebecca and will still do anything to protect her, and Beatrice, the ever so nosey yet loving sister of Maxim, who will tell anyone exactly what she thinks and won't apologise for it.


I will be rereading Rebecca many times in the future and I would definitely recommend it to you as well!

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page